Hugo Awards 2009

science fiction awards database

SFWA Grand Master <— 2009 thread —> Nebula

2010 <— Hugo Awards —> 2008
Where and When: Anticipation, Montreal : August 9, 2009
Eligibility Year: 2008
Associated Awards: John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer (also listed below)
Short Story
  • Winner: “Exhalation”, Ted Chiang (Eclipse Two)
  • “26 Monkeys, Also the Abyss”, Kij Johnson (Asimov's Jul 2008)
  • “Article of Faith”, Mike Resnick (Baen's Universe Oct 2008)
  • “Evil Robot Monkey”, Mary Robinette Kowal (The Solaris Book of New Science Fiction, Volume Two)
  • “From Babel's Fall'n Glory We Fled”, Michael Swanwick (Asimov's Feb 2008)
Related Book
Graphic Story
Dramatic Presentation: Long Form
  • Winner: WALL-E (Andrew Stanton & Pete Docter, story; Andrew Stanton & Jim Reardon, screenplay; Andrew Stanton, directo; Pixar/Walt Disney)
  • The Dark Knight (Christopher Nolan & David S. Goyer, story; Jonathan Nolan and and & Christopher Nolan, screenplay; based on characters created by Bob Kane; Christopher Nolan, director; Warner Brothers)
  • Hellboy II: The Golden Army (Guillermo del Toro & Mike Mignola, story; Guillermo del Toro, screenplay; based on the comic by Mike Mignola; Guillermo del Toro, director; Dark Horse, Universal)
  • Iron Man (Mark Fergus & Hawk Ostby and Art Marcum & Matt Holloway, screenplay; based on characters created by Stan Lee & Don Heck & Larry Lieber & Jack Kirby; Jon Favreau, director; Paramount, Marvel Studios)
  • METAtropolis (edited by John Scalzi; Elizabeth Bear, Jay Lake, Tobias Buckell, John Scalzi, and Karl Schroeder, writers; Audible Inc.)
Dramatic Presentation: Short Form
  • Winner: Doctor Horrible's Sing-Along Blog (Joss Whedon, & Zack Whedon, & Jed Whedon, & Maurissa Tancharoen, writers; Joss Whedon, director; Mutant Enemy)
  • Battlestar Galactica: “Revelations” (Bradley Thompson & David Weddle, writers; Michael Rymer, director; NBC Universal)
  • Doctor Who: “Turn Left” (Russell T. Davies, writer; Graeme Harper, director; BBC Wales)
  • Doctor Who: “Silence in the Library"/"Forest of the Dead” (Steven Moffat, writer; Euros Lynn, director; BBC Wales)
  • Lost: “The Constant” (Carlton Cuse & Damon Lindelof, writers; Jack Bender, director; Bad Robot, ABC studios)
Associated Awards


Copyright 2012 - 2024 by Mark R. Kelly and the Locus Science Fiction Foundation. All rights reserved.
This page last updated Wednesday 23 Jul 2014 at 14:38 PT