Hugo Awards 2017

science fiction awards database

SFWA Grand Master <— 2017 thread —> Nebula

2018 <— Hugo Awards —> 2016
Where and When: Worldcon 75, Helsinki, Finland : August 11, 2017
Eligibility Year: 2016
Associated Awards: John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer (also listed below)
  • Winner: “The Tomato Thief”, Ursula Vernon (Apex 5 Jan 2016)
  • Alien Stripper Boned from Behind by the T-Rex, Stix Hiscock (self-published)
  • “The Art of Space Travel”, Nina Allan ( 27 Jul 2016)
  • The Jewel and Her Lapidary, Fran Wilde (
  • “Touring with the Alien”, Carolyn Ives Gilman (Clarkesworld Apr 2016)
  • “You'll Surely Drown Here If You Stay”, Alyssa Wong (Uncanny May/Jun 2016)
Short Story
  • Winner: “Seasons of Glass and Iron”, Amal El-Mohtar (The Starlit Wood)
  • “The City Born Great”, N. K. Jemisin ( 28 Sep 2016)
  • “A Fist of Permutations in Lightning and Wildflowers”, Alyssa Wong ( 2 Mar 2016)
  • “Our Talons Can Crush Galaxies”, Brooke Bolander (Uncanny Nov/Dec 2016)
  • “That Game We Played During the War”, Carrie Vaughn ( 16 Mar 2016)
  • “An Unimaginable Light”, John C. Wright (God, Robot)
Related Work
Graphic Story
Dramatic Presentation: Long Form
  • Winner: Arrival (screenplay by Eric Heisserer based on a short story by Ted Chiang, directed by Denis Villeneuve; 21 Laps Entertainment/FilmNation Entertainment/Lava Bear Films)
  • Deadpool (screenplay by Rhett Reese & Paul Wernick, directed by Tim Miller; Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation/Marvel Entertainment/Kinberg Genre/The Donners’ Company/TSG Entertainment)
  • Ghostbusters (screenplay by Katie Dippold & Paul Feig, directed by Paul Feig; Columbia Pictures/LStar Capital/Village Roadshow Pictures/Pascal Pictures/Feigco Entertainment/Ghostcorps/The Montecito Picture Company)
  • Hidden Figures (screenplay by Allison Schroeder and Theodore Melfi, directed by Theodore Melfi; Fox 2000 Pictures/Chernin Entertainment/Levantine Films/TSG Entertainment)
  • Rogue One (screenplay by Chris Weitz and Tony Gilroy, directed by Gareth Edwards; Lucasfilm/Allison Shearmur Productions/Black Hangar Studios/Stereo D/Walt Disney Pictures)
  • Stranger Things (Season One) (created by the Duffer Brothers; 21 Laps Entertainment/Monkey Massacre)
Dramatic Presentation: Short Form
  • Winner: The Expanse: “Leviathan Wakes” (written by Mark Fergus and Hawk Ostby, directed by Terry McDonough; SyFy)
  • Black Mirror: “San Junipero” (written by Charlie Brooker, directed by Owen Harris; House of Tomorrow)
  • Doctor Who: “The Return of Doctor Mysterio” (written by Steven Moffat, directed by Ed Bazalgette; BBC Cymru Wales)
  • Game of Thrones: “Battle of the Bastards” (written by David Benioff and D. B. Weiss, directed by Miguel Sapochnik; HBO)
  • Game of Thrones: “The Door” (written by David Benioff and D. B. Weiss, directed by Jack Bender; HBO)
  • Splendor & Misery (album) (by Clipping (Daveed Diggs, William Hutson, Jonathan Snipes))
Associated Awards


Copyright 2012 - 2024 by Mark R. Kelly and the Locus Science Fiction Foundation. All rights reserved.
This page last updated Wednesday 7 Sep 2022 at 11:45 PT