Hugo Awards 2012

science fiction awards database

SFWA Grand Master <— 2012 thread —> Nebula

2013 <— Hugo Awards —> 2011
Where and When: Chicon 7, Chicago, IL : September 2, 2012
Eligibility Year: 2011
Associated Awards: John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer, Worldcon Special Convention Award (also listed below)
Short Story
  • Winner: “The Paper Menagerie”, Ken Liu (F&SF Mar/Apr 2011)
  • “The Cartographer Wasps and the Anarchist Bees”, E. Lily Yu (Clarkesworld Apr 2011)
  • “The Homecoming”, Mike Resnick (Asimov's Apr/May 2011)
  • “Movement”, Nancy Fulda (Asimov's Mar 2011)
  • “Shadow War of the Night Dragons, Book One: The Dead City (Prologue)”, John Scalzi ( 1 Apr 2011)
Related Work
Graphic Story
Dramatic Presentation: Long Form
  • Winner: Game of Thrones (Season 1) (created by David Benioff and D. B. Weiss; written by David Benioff, D. B. Weiss, Bryan Cogman, Jane Espenson, and George R. R. Martin; directed by Brian Kirk, Daniel Minahan, Tim van Patten, and Alan Taylor (HBO))
  • Captain America: The First Avenger (screenplay by Christopher Markus and Stephan McFeely, directed by Joe Johnston (Marvel))
  • Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, Part 2 (screenplay by Steve Kloves; directed by David Yates (Warner Bros.))
  • Hugo (screenplay by John Logan; directed by Martin Scorsese (Paramount))
  • Source Code (screenplay by Ben Ripley; directed by Duncan Jones (Vendome Pictures))
Dramatic Presentation: Short Form
  • Winner: Doctor Who: “The Doctor's Wife” (written by Neil Gaiman; directed by Richard Clark (BBC Wales))
  • Community: “Remedial Chaos Theory” (written by Dan Harmon and Chris McKenna; directed by Jeff Melman (NBC))
  • Doctor Who: “A Good Man Goes to War” (written by Steven Moffat; directed by Peter Hoar (BBC Wales))
  • Doctor Who: “The Girl Who Waited” (written by Tom MacRae; directed by Nick Hurran (BBC Wales))
  • “The Drink Tank's Hugo Acceptance Speech”, Christopher J Garcia & James Bacon
Associated Awards


Special Award
The "Best Fancast" category is a one-time special category.

Copyright 2012 - 2024 by Mark R. Kelly and the Locus Science Fiction Foundation. All rights reserved.
This page last updated Friday 15 May 2015 at 10:02 PT