Hugo Awards 1997

science fiction awards database

SFWA Grand Master <— 1997 thread —> Nebula

1998 <— Hugo Awards —> 1996
Where and When: LoneStarCon 2, San Antonio TX : August 28, 1997 - September 1, 1997
Eligibility Year: 1996
Associated Awards: John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer (also listed below)
  • Winner: “Bicycle Repairman”, Bruce Sterling (Intersections: The Sycamore Hill Anthology; Asimov's Oct/Nov 1996)
  • “Age of Aquarius”, William Barton (Asimov's May 1996)
  • “Beauty and the Opéra or The Phantom Beast”, Suzy McKee Charnas (Asimov's Mar 1996)
  • “The Land of Nod”, Mike Resnick (Asimov's Jun 1996)
  • “Mountain Ways”, Ursula K. Le Guin (Asimov's Aug 1996)
Short Story
  • Winner: “The Soul Selects Her Own Society: Invasion and Repulsion: A Chronological Reinterpretation of Two of Emily Dickinson's Poems: A Wellsian Perspective”, Connie Willis (Asimov's Apr 1996; War of the Worlds: Global Dispatches)
  • “The Dead”, Michael Swanwick (Starlight 1)
  • “Decency”, Robert Reed (Asimov's Jun 1996)
  • “Gone”, John Crowley (F&SF Sep 1996)
  • “Un-Birthday Boy”, James White (Analog Feb 1996)
Nonfiction Book
Dramatic Presentation
  • Winner: Babylon 5: “Severed Dreams” (Warner Bros.; directed by David J. Eagle, written by J. Michael Straczynski, produced by John Copeland)
  • Independence Day (Centropolis Film Productions/20th Century Fox Film; directed by Roland Emmerich, written by Dean Devlin and Roland Emmerich, produced by Dean Devlin)
  • Mars Attacks! (Warner Bros.; directed by Tim Burton, written by Jonathan Gems, produced by Tim Burton and Larry Franco)
  • Star Trek: Deep Space Nine: “Trials and Tribble-ations” (Paramount; directed by Jonathan West, written by Ronald D. Moore & Rene Echevarria, story by Ira Steven Behr & Hans Beimler & Robert Hewitt Wolfe, executive producers Ira Steven Behr & Rick Berman)
  • Star Trek: First Contact (Paramount Pictures; directed by Jonathan Frakes, story by Ronald D. Moore, Brannon Braga & Rick Berman, screenplay by Ronald D. Moore & Brannon Braga, produced by Rick Berman)
Associated Awards

Copyright 2012 - 2024 by Mark R. Kelly and the Locus Science Fiction Foundation. All rights reserved.
This page last updated Friday 23 May 2014 at 13:04 PT