Seiun Awards Winners By Year

science fiction awards database

SE SF <— Overview thread —> SF Age Poll

  Seiun Awards  
— 2023 —
translated novel Foundation series, Isaac Asimov
translated story (tie) “Sooner or Later Everything Falls into the Sea”, Sarah Pinsker
translated story (tie) “The Wandering Earth”, Cixin Liu
— 2022 —
translated novel Project Hail Mary, Andy Weir
translated story “The One With the Interstellar Group Consciousnesses”, James Alan Gardner
— 2021 —
translated novel The Dark Forest, Cixin Liu
translated story “Zima Blue”, Alastair Reynolds
— 2020 —
translated novel The Three-Body Problem, Cixin Liu
translated story “Uncanny Valley”, Greg Egan
— 2019 —
translated novel Mecha Samurai Empire, Peter Tieryas
translated story “The Circle”, Liu Cixin
— 2018 —
translated novel Sleeping Giants, Sylvain Neuvel
translated story “Folding Beijing”, Hao Jingfang
— 2017 —
translated novel United States of Japan, Peter Tieryas
translated story (tie) “Backward, Turn Backward”, James Tiptree, Jr.
translated story (tie) “Simulacrum”, Ken Liu
— 2016 —
translated novel Ancillary Justice, Ann Leckie
translated story “Good Hunting”, Ken Liu
— 2015 —
translated novel The Martian, Andy Weir
translated story “The Girl-Thing Who Went Out for Sushi”, Pat Cadigan
— 2014 —
translated long form Blindsight, Peter Watts
translated short form “The Paper Menagerie”, Ken Liu
— 2013 —
translated long form The Android's Dream, John Scalzi
translated short form “Pocketful of Dharma”, Paolo Bacigalupi
— 2012 —
translated long form The Windup Girl, Paolo Bacigalupi
translated short form “The Lifecycle of Software Objects”, Ted Chiang
— 2011 —
translated long form Eifelheim, Michael F. Flynn
translated short form “Carry the Moon in My Pocket”, James Lovegrove
— 2010 —
translated novel The Last Colony, John Scalzi
translated story “Dark Integeres”, Greg Egan
— 2009 —
translated long form Spin, Robert Charles Wilson
translated short form “The Merchant and the Alchemist's Gate”, Ted Chiang
— 2008 —
translated long form Brightness Falls from the Air, James Tiptree, Jr.
translated short form “Weather”, Alastair Reynolds
— 2007 —
translated long form Mortal Engines, Philip Reeve
translated short form “The Astronaut from Wyoming”, Adam-Troy Castro & Jerry Oltion
— 2006 —
translated long form Diaspora, Greg Egan
translated short form “The Human Front”, Ken MacLeod
— 2005 —
translated novel Distress, Greg Egan
translated short story “And Now the News...”, Theodore Sturgeon
— 2004 —
translated novel Heaven's Reach, David Brin
translated short story “Hell Is the Absence of God”, Ted Chiang
— 2003 —
translated novel Illegal Alien, Robert J. Sawyer
translated short story “Luminous”, Greg Egan
— 2002 —
translated novel There and Back Again, by Max Merriwell, Pat Murphy
translated short story (tie) “Reasons to be Cheerful”, Greg Egan
translated short story (tie) “Story of Your Life”, Ted Chiang
— 2001 —
foreign novel Frameshift, Robert J. Sawyer
foreign short story “Oceanic”, Greg Egan
— 2000 —
overseas long fiction Kirinyaga, Mike Resnick
overseas short fiction “Out of the Everywhere”, James Tiptree, Jr.
— 1999 —
foreign novel (tie) Red Mars, Kim Stanley Robinson
foreign novel (tie) The Time Ships, Stephen Baxter
foreign short story “This Year's Class Picture”, Dan Simmons
— 1998 —
foreign novel Fallen Angels, Larry Niven, Jerry Pournelle & Michael Flynn
foreign short fiction “The Death of Captain Future”, Allen Steele
— 1997 —
overseas novel End of an Era, Robert J. Sawyer
overseas short story “Heads”, Greg Bear
— 1996 —
novel (tie) Timelike Infinity, Stephen Baxter
novel (tie) The Fall of Hyperion, Dan Simmons
short story “Robot Dreams”, Isaac Asimov
— 1995 —
foreign novel Hyperion, Dan Simmons
foreign short fiction “A Planet Named Shayol”, Cordwainer Smith
— 1994 —
foreign novel Entoverse, James P. Hogan
foreign short fiction “Tangents”, Greg Bear
dramatic presentation Jurassic Park
— 1993 —
foreign novel Tau Zero, Poul Anderson
foreign short fiction “Groaning Hinges of the World”, R. A. Lafferty
nonfiction The Minds of Billy Milligan, Daniel Keyes
— 1992 —
foreign novel The McAndrew Chronicles, Charles Sheffield
foreign short fiction “Tango Charlie and Foxtrot Romeo”, John Varley
— 1991 —
foreign novel The Uplift War, David Brin
foreign short fiction “Schrödinger's Kitten”, George Alec Effinger
dramatic presentation Ginga-Ulchu Odyssey
— 1990 —
foreign novel Collision with Chronos, Barrington J. Bayley
foreign short fiction “Think Blue, Count Two”, Cordwainer Smith
foreign nonfiction Future Magic, Robert L. Forward
— 1989 —
foreign novel Footfall, Larry Niven & Jerry Pournelle
foreign short fiction “Eye for Eye”, Orson Scott Card
— 1988 —
foreign novel Norstrilia, Cordwainer Smith
foreign short fiction “The Only Neat Thing to Do”, James Tiptree, Jr.
— 1987 —
foreign novel Neuromancer, William Gibson
foreign short fiction “PRESS ENTER[]”, John Varley
dramatic presentation Brazil
— 1986 —
foreign novel The Elric Saga, Michael Moorcock
foreign short fiction no award
foreign media Back to the Future
— 1985 —
foreign novel The Zen Gun, Barrington J. Bayley
foreign short fiction no award
— 1984 —
foreign novel The Garments of Caean, Barrington J. Bayley
foreign short fiction “Unicorn Variation”, Roger Zelazny
dramatic presentation Dark Crystal
— 1983 —
foreign novel Dragon's Egg, Robert L. Forward
foreign short fiction “Nightflyers”, George R. R. Martin
dramatic presentation Blade Runner
— 1982 —
foreign novel The Genesis Machine, James P. Hogan
foreign short fiction “The Brave Little Toaster”, Thomas M. Disch
— 1981 —
foreign novel Inherit the Stars, James P. Hogan
foreign short fiction “A Relic of Empire”, Larry Niven
— 1980 —
foreign novel Rendezvous with Rama, Arthur C. Clarke
foreign short fiction no award
— 1979 —
foreign novel Ringworld, Larry Niven
foreign short fiction “Inconstant Moon”, Larry Niven
— 1978 —
foreign novel I Will Fear No Evil, Robert A. Heinlein
foreign short story no award
— 1977 —
foreign novel The Dragon Masters, Jack Vance
foreign short story “Rozprawa”, Stanislaw Lem
— 1976 —
foreign novel This Immortal, Roger Zelazny
foreign short story “Wet Paint”, A. Bertram Chandler
— 1975 —
foreign novel Up the Line, Robert Silverberg
foreign short story “Eurema's Dam”, R. A. Lafferty
— 1974 —
foreign novel Dune, Frank Herbert
foreign short story “A Meeting with Medusa”, Arthur C. Clarke
— 1973 —
foreign novel The Sirens of Titan, Kurt Vonnegut, Jr.
foreign short story “The Black Ferris”, Ray Bradbury
— 1972 —
foreign novel Nightwings, Robert Silverberg
foreign short story “The Blue Bottle”, Ray Bradbury
— 1971 —
foreign novel The Andromeda Strain, Michael Crichton
foreign short story “The Poems”, Ray Bradbury
— 1970 —
foreign novel The Crystal World, J. G. Ballard
foreign short story “The Squirrel Cage”, Thomas M. Disch

Copyright 2012 - 2024 by Mark R. Kelly and the Locus Science Fiction Foundation. All rights reserved.
This page last updated Friday 11 Aug 2023 at 10:05 PT