Seiun Awards Winners By Category

science fiction awards database

SE SF <— Overview thread —> SF Age Poll

  Seiun Awards  
Category Groups:
foreign novel | foreign short fiction | foreign short fiction | foreign nonfiction | foreign media |
foreign novel
2024 The Kaiju Preservation Society, John Scalzi
2023 Foundation series, Isaac Asimov
2022 Project Hail Mary, Andy Weir
2021 The Dark Forest, Cixin Liu
2020 The Three-Body Problem, Cixin Liu
2019 Mecha Samurai Empire, Peter Tieryas
2018 Sleeping Giants, Sylvain Neuvel
2017 United States of Japan, Peter Tieryas
2016 Ancillary Justice, Ann Leckie
2015 The Martian, Andy Weir
2014 Blindsight, Peter Watts
2013 The Android's Dream, John Scalzi
2012 The Windup Girl, Paolo Bacigalupi
2011 Eifelheim, Michael F. Flynn
2010 The Last Colony, John Scalzi
2009 Spin, Robert Charles Wilson
2008 Brightness Falls from the Air, James Tiptree, Jr.
2007 Mortal Engines, Philip Reeve
2006 Diaspora, Greg Egan
2005 Distress, Greg Egan
2004 Heaven's Reach, David Brin
2003 Illegal Alien, Robert J. Sawyer
2002 There and Back Again, by Max Merriwell, Pat Murphy
2001 Frameshift, Robert J. Sawyer
2000 Kirinyaga, Mike Resnick
1999 (tie) Red Mars, Kim Stanley Robinson
1999 (tie) The Time Ships, Stephen Baxter
1998 Fallen Angels, Larry Niven, Jerry Pournelle & Michael Flynn
1997 End of an Era, Robert J. Sawyer
1996 (tie) The Fall of Hyperion, Dan Simmons
1996 (tie) Timelike Infinity, Stephen Baxter
1995 Hyperion, Dan Simmons
1994 Entoverse, James P. Hogan
1993 Tau Zero, Poul Anderson
1992 The McAndrew Chronicles, Charles Sheffield
1991 The Uplift War, David Brin
1990 Collision with Chronos, Barrington J. Bayley
1989 Footfall, Larry Niven & Jerry Pournelle
1988 Norstrilia, Cordwainer Smith
1987 Neuromancer, William Gibson
1986 The Elric Saga, Michael Moorcock
1985 The Zen Gun, Barrington J. Bayley
1984 The Garments of Caean, Barrington J. Bayley
1983 Dragon's Egg, Robert L. Forward
1982 The Genesis Machine, James P. Hogan
1981 Inherit the Stars, James P. Hogan
1980 Rendezvous with Rama, Arthur C. Clarke
1979 Ringworld, Larry Niven
1978 I Will Fear No Evil, Robert A. Heinlein
1977 The Dragon Masters, Jack Vance
1976 This Immortal, Roger Zelazny
1975 Up the Line, Robert Silverberg
1974 Dune, Frank Herbert
1973 The Sirens of Titan, Kurt Vonnegut, Jr.
1972 Nightwings, Robert Silverberg
1971 The Andromeda Strain, Michael Crichton
1970 The Crystal World, J. G. Ballard
foreign short fiction
2024 “Solidity”, Greg Egan
2023 (tie) “The Wandering Earth”, Cixin Liu
2023 (tie) “Sooner or Later Everything Falls into the Sea”, Sarah Pinsker
2022 “The One With the Interstellar Group Consciousnesses”, James Alan Gardner
2021 “Zima Blue”, Alastair Reynolds
2020 “Uncanny Valley”, Greg Egan
2019 “The Circle”, Liu Cixin
2018 “Folding Beijing”, Hao Jingfang
2017 (tie) “Simulacrum”, Ken Liu
2017 (tie) “Backward, Turn Backward”, James Tiptree, Jr.
2016 “Good Hunting”, Ken Liu
2015 “The Girl-Thing Who Went Out for Sushi”, Pat Cadigan
2014 “The Paper Menagerie”, Ken Liu
2013 “Pocketful of Dharma”, Paolo Bacigalupi
2012 “The Lifecycle of Software Objects”, Ted Chiang
2011 “Carry the Moon in My Pocket”, James Lovegrove
2010 “Dark Integeres”, Greg Egan
2009 “The Merchant and the Alchemist's Gate”, Ted Chiang
2008 “Weather”, Alastair Reynolds
2007 “The Astronaut from Wyoming”, Adam-Troy Castro & Jerry Oltion
2006 “The Human Front”, Ken MacLeod
2005 “And Now the News...”, Theodore Sturgeon
2004 “Hell Is the Absence of God”, Ted Chiang
2003 “Luminous”, Greg Egan
2002 (tie) “Reasons to be Cheerful”, Greg Egan
2002 (tie) “Story of Your Life”, Ted Chiang
2001 “Oceanic”, Greg Egan
2000 “Out of the Everywhere”, James Tiptree, Jr.
1999 “This Year's Class Picture”, Dan Simmons
1998 “The Death of Captain Future”, Allen Steele
1997 “Heads”, Greg Bear
1996 “Robot Dreams”, Isaac Asimov
1995 “A Planet Named Shayol”, Cordwainer Smith
1994 “Tangents”, Greg Bear
1993 “Groaning Hinges of the World”, R. A. Lafferty
1992 “Tango Charlie and Foxtrot Romeo”, John Varley
1991 “Schrödinger's Kitten”, George Alec Effinger
1990 “Think Blue, Count Two”, Cordwainer Smith
1989 “Eye for Eye”, Orson Scott Card
1988 “The Only Neat Thing to Do”, James Tiptree, Jr.
1987 “PRESS ENTER[]”, John Varley
1986 no award
1985 no award
1984 “Unicorn Variation”, Roger Zelazny
1983 “Nightflyers”, George R. R. Martin
1982 “The Brave Little Toaster”, Thomas M. Disch
1981 “A Relic of Empire”, Larry Niven
1980 no award
1979 “Inconstant Moon”, Larry Niven
1978 no award
1977 “Rozprawa”, Stanislaw Lem
1976 “Wet Paint”, A. Bertram Chandler
1975 “Eurema's Dam”, R. A. Lafferty
1974 “A Meeting with Medusa”, Arthur C. Clarke
1973 “The Black Ferris”, Ray Bradbury
1972 “The Blue Bottle”, Ray Bradbury
1971 “The Poems”, Ray Bradbury
1970 “The Squirrel Cage”, Thomas M. Disch
foreign nonfiction
1993 The Minds of Billy Milligan, Daniel Keyes
1990 Future Magic, Robert L. Forward
foreign media
1994 Jurassic Park
1991 Ginga-Ulchu Odyssey
1987 Brazil
1986 Back to the Future
1984 Dark Crystal
1983 Blade Runner

Copyright 2012 - 2024 by Mark R. Kelly and the Locus Science Fiction Foundation. All rights reserved.
This page last updated Friday 5 Jul 2024 at 10:25 PT