Nnedi Okorafor

science fiction awards database

<—         —>

— Note: Publications prior to 2010 were bylined Nnedi Okorafor-Mbachu—

Awards Summary


Major Awards: 6

Locus Awards: 1

Other Awards: 4

Total Number of Award Wins and Nominations: 51

— Major Awards —
Hugo Awardsfor SF/F works, voted by members of annual World Science Fiction Convention
(5 nominations; 2 wins)

LaGuardia (by written by NO, illustrated by Tana Ford, colors by James Devlin) (Berger Books/Dark Horse) — graphic story — winner

Binti: The Night Masquerade (Tor.com) — novella — nomination

Black Panther: Long Live the King (issues 1-3) (by written by NO & Aaron Covington, illustrated by André Lima Araújo, Mario Del Pennino, Tana Ford) (Marvel) — graphic story — nomination

Binti: Home (Tor.com) — novella — nomination

Binti (Tor.com) — novella — winner

Nebula Awardsfor SF/F works, voted by SF & Fantasy Writers of America professional membership
(2 nominations; 1 win)

Binti (Tor.com) — novella — winner

Who Fears Death (DAW) — novel — nomination

World Fantasy Awardsfor Fantasy works; juried, with nominations from World Fantasy Con members
(1 nomination; 1 win)

Who Fears Death (DAW) — novel — winner

Andre Norton Awardfor YA SF/F works, presented by SFWA in parallel with the Nebula Awards
(2 nominations)

Akata Witch (Viking Juvenile) — finalist

The Shadow Speaker (Hyperion/Jump at the Sun) — finalist

Arthur C. Clarke Awardfor SF novel published in the UK; juried
(1 nomination)

The Book of Phoenix (Hodder & Stoughton) — shortlist

British Fantasy Awardsfor fantasy works published in the UK, voted by British Fantasy Society members, juried since 2012
(2 nominations)

Binti: The Night Masquerade (Tor.com) — novella — nomination

Binti (Tor.com) — novella — nomination

British SF Association Awardsfor SF works published in the UK, voted by British SF Association members
(2 nominations)

Binti (Tor.com) — short story — nomination

Lagoon (Hodder) — novel — nomination

Dragon Awardsfor SF/F works, voted on by members of the annual Dragon Con
(1 nomination)

Akata Woman (Viking) — YA/middle grade novel — nomination

(3 nominations)

Lagoon (Hodder & Stoughton) — honor list

Who Fears Death (DAW) — honor list

The Shadow Speaker (Hyperion) — honor list

John W. Campbell Memorial Awardfor SF novel published in US or UK; juried
(1 nomination)

The Book of Phoenix (DAW) — finalist

Lodestar Awardfor YA SF/F works, presented by Worldcon in parallel with the Hugo Awards
(2 nominations; 2 wins)

Akata Woman (Viking) — winner

Akata Warrior (Viking) — winner

Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Awardfor SF short fiction in English; juried
(1 nomination)

“The Magical Negro” (Dark Matter: Reading the Bones) — shortlist

— Locus Awards and Poll —
Locus Awardsfor SF/F/H works, polled by readers of Locus Magazine
(19 nominations; 1 win)

“Stones” (Clarkesworld Sep 2023) — short story — 6th place

Noor (DAW) — sf novel — 5th place

Remote Control (Tordotcom) — novella — 5th place

“The Black Pages” (Black Stars) — novelette — 5th place

After the Rain (by NO, adapted by John Jennings, illustrated by David Brame) (Abrams ComicArts/Megascope) — illustrated and art book — 2nd place

“Binti: Sacred Fire” (Binti: The Complete Trilogy) — novelette — 3rd place

Broken Places & Outer Spaces: Finding Creativity in the Unexpected (Simon & Schuster/TED) — nonfiction — 6th place

“Mother of Invention” (Future Tense) — short story — 10th place

Akata Warrior (Viking) — young adult book — winner

Binti: Home (Tor.com) — novella — 2nd place

“Afrofuturist 419” (Clarkesworld Nov 2016) — short story — 10th place

Binti (Tor.com) — novella — 3rd place

Lagoon (Hodder) — sf novel — 7th place

Kabu Kabu (Prime) — collection — 4th place

Akata Witch (Viking) — young adult book — 3rd place

“The Book of Phoenix (Excerpted from The Great Book)” (Clarkesworld Mar 2011) — novelette — 9th place

Who Fears Death (DAW) — fantasy novel — 5th place

The Shadow Speaker (Houghton Mifflin) — young adult book — 7th place

Zahrah the Windseeker (Houghton Mifflin) — first novel — 12th place

— Other Awards —
Carl Brandon Awardsfor works by persons of color, and dealing with issues of race and ethnicity; juried
(4 nominations; 2 wins)

Who Fears Death — Kindred Award winner — winner

The Shadow Speaker — Parallax Award winner — winner

Zahrah the Windseeker (Houghton Mifflin) — Parallax Award shortlist

Zahrah the Windseeker (Houghton Mifflin) — Kindred Award shortlist

Golden Duck Awardsfor children's and YA SF books, juried
(1 nomination)

The Shadow Speaker (Hyperion) — Hal Clement Award (young adult) — nomination

Ignotus Awardsfor SF works published in Spain, voted by members of Spanish SF Association
(1 nomination; 1 win)

Binti — foreign short story — winner

Kurd Lasswitz Preisfor SF works published in Germany, juried
(1 nomination; 1 win)

The Book of Phoenix — foreign novel — winner

The Kitschiesfor speculative/fantastic works that elevate the tone of genre literature, juried
(1 nomination)

Lagoon (Hodder & Stoughton) — Red Tentacle (novel) — nomination

WSFA Small Press Awardfor short fiction from small press publications, voted by member of Washington SF Assn
(1 nomination)

“Spider the Artist” (Seeds of Change) — shortlist — nomination

Copyright 2012 - 2024 by Mark R. Kelly and the Locus Science Fiction Foundation. All rights reserved.
This page last updated Monday 1 Jul 2024 at 19:56 PT