Science Fiction Hall of Fame

science fiction awards database
<— Overview thread —> SFWA Grand Master

  Science Fiction Hall of Fame  
2020 2019 2018 2017 2016 2015 2014 2013 2012 2011
2010 2009 2008 2007 2006 2005 2004 2003 2002 2001
2000 1999 1998 1997 1996 1995 1994 1993 1992 1991
The Science Fiction Hall of Fame was founded in 1996 by the Kansas City Science Fiction and Fantasy Society, and by the Center for the Study of Science Fiction at the University of Kansas (which supervises the Campbell and Sturgeon Memorial Awards). Four individuals are honored each year, usually (through 2010) two living and two posthumous.

In 2016 procedures changed, with nominations taken from the public, and large number of inductees chosen, now under the perview of the Museum of Pop Culture.
— Winners by Year —
— 2018 — J. K. Rowling
  Stan Lee
  The Legend of Zelda
  Buffy the Vampire Slayer
— 2017 — H. P. Lovecraft (creator)
  Rumiko Takahashi (creator)
  Leonard Nimoy (creator)
  Douglas Adams (creator)
  Margaret Atwood (creator)
  George Orwell (creator)
  John Williams (creator)
  Keith David (creator)
  Jim Henson (creator)
  C. S. Lewis (creator)
  Madeleine L'Engle (creator)
  Terry Pratchett (creator)
  Jack Kirby (creator)
  Guillermo del Toro (creator)
  Terry Gilliam (creator)
  Blade Runner (work)
  Dungeons & Dragons (work)
  Myst (work)
  2001: A Space Odyssey (work)
  The Princess Bride (work)
  Star Trek (work)
  Wonder Woman (work)
  The X-Files (work)
  The Matrix (work)
— 2015 — Kurt Vonnegut
  Jack Gaughan
  James Gunn
  John Schoenherr
  Georges Méliès
— 2014 — Stanley Kubrick
  Hayao Miyazaki
  Frank Frazetta
  Olaf Stapledon
  Leigh Brackett
— 2013 — H. R. Giger
  J. R. R. Tolkien
  David Bowie
  Joanna Russ
  Judith Merril
— 2012 — Joe Haldeman
  Virgil Finlay
  James Cameron
  James Tiptree, Jr.
— 2011 — Moebius
  Vincent Di Fate
  Gardner Dozois
  Harlan Ellison
— 2010 — Octavia E. Butler
  Douglas Trumbull
  Richard Matheson
  Roger Zelazny
— 2009 — Edward L. Ferman
  Michael Whelan
  Frank R. Paul
  Connie Willis
— 2008 — Ian Ballantine & Betty Ballantine (Living Inductee)
  William Gibson (Living Inductee)
  Rod Serling (Posthumous Inductee)
  Richard Powers (Posthumous Inductee)
— 2007 — Ridley Scott (Living Inductee)
  Gene Wolfe (Living Inductee)
  Ed Emshwiller (Posthumous Inductee)
  Gene Roddenberry (Posthumous Inductee)
— 2006 — Anne McCaffrey (Living Inductee)
  George Lucas (Living Inductee)
  Kelly Freas (Posthumous Inductee)
  Frank Herbert (Posthumous Inductee)
— 2005 — Ray Harryhausen (Living Inductee)
  Steven Spielberg (Living Inductee)
  Philip K. Dick (Posthumous Inductee)
  Chesley Bonestell (Posthumous Inductee)
— 2004 — Brian W. Aldiss (Living Inductee)
  Harry Harrison (Living Inductee)
  Mary Shelley (Posthumous Inductee)
  E. E. "Doc" Smith (Posthumous Inductee)
— 2003 — Wilson Tucker (Living Inductee)
  Kate Wilhelm (Living Inductee)
  Damon Knight (Posthumous Inductee)
  Edgar Rice Burroughs (Posthumous Inductee)
— 2002 — Michael Moorcock (Living Inductee)
  Samuel R. Delany (Living Inductee)
  Donald Wollheim (Posthumous Inductee)
  James Blish (Posthumous Inductee)
— 2001 — Jack Vance (Living Inductee)
  Ursula K. Le Guin (Living Inductee)
  Alfred Bester (Posthumous Inductee)
  Fritz Leiber (Posthumous Inductee)
— 2000 — Gordon R. Dickson (Living Inductee)
  Poul Anderson (Living Inductee)
  Theodore Sturgeon (Posthumous Inductee)
  Eric Frank Russell (Posthumous Inductee)
— 1999 — Robert Silverberg (Living Inductee)
  Ray Bradbury (Living Inductee)
  A. Merritt (Posthumous Inductee)
  Jules Verne (Posthumous Inductee)
— 1998 — Frederik Pohl (Living Inductee)
  Hal Clement (Living Inductee)
  Robert A. Heinlein (Posthumous Inductee)
  C. L. Moore (Posthumous Inductee)
— 1997 — Arthur C. Clarke (Living Inductee)
  Andre Norton (Living Inductee)
  Isaac Asimov (Posthumous Inductee)
  H. G. Wells (Posthumous Inductee)
— 1996 — A. E. van Vogt (Living Inductee)
  Jack Williamson (Living Inductee)
  Hugo Gernsback (Posthumous Inductee)
  John W. Campbell (Posthumous Inductee)

Copyright 2012 - 2020 by Mark R. Kelly and the Locus Science Fiction Foundation. All rights reserved.
This page last updated Saturday 16 Jun 2018 at 15:50 PT