C. J. Cherryh

science fiction awards database

<—         —>
<—           —>

Awards Summary

Career and Special Awards: 2

Major Awards: 3

Locus Awards: 1

Other Awards: 4

Total Number of Award Wins and Nominations: 83

Times Served as Judge: 1

— Career and Special Awards —
SFWA Grand Master Awardchosen by SF & Fantasy Writers of America officers

Skylark Awardfor contribution to SF in the spirit of E.E. "Doc" Smith; presented by NESFA

— Major Awards —
Hugo Awardsfor SF/F works, voted by members of annual World Science Fiction Convention
(7 nominations; 3 wins)

Cyteen (Warner) — novel — winner

Cuckoo's Egg (Phantasia; DAW) — novel — nomination

“The Scapegoat ” (Alien Stars) — novella — nomination

The Pride of Chanur (DAW) — novel — nomination

Downbelow Station (DAW) — novel — winner

The Faded Sun: Kesrith (Galaxy Feb,Mar,Apr,May 1978; DAW) — novel — nomination

“Cassandra ” (F&SF Oct 1978) — short story — winner

Nebula Awardsfor SF/F works, voted by SF & Fantasy Writers of America professional membership
(2 nominations)

The Faded Sun: Kesrith (Galaxy Feb,Mar,Apr,May 1978; DAW) — novel — nomination

“Cassandra ” (F&SF Oct 1978) — short story — nomination

World Fantasy Awardsfor Fantasy works; juried, with nominations from World Fantasy Con members
(2 nominations)

“Gwydion and the Dragon ” (Once Upon a Time: A Treasury of Modern Fairy Tales) — novella — nomination

Ealdwood (Donald M. Grant) — novella — nomination

British SF Association Awardsfor SF works published in the UK, voted by British SF Association members
(1 nomination)

Cyteen (NEL) — novel — nomination

John W. Campbell Memorial Awardfor SF novel published in US or UK; juried
(1 nomination)

Hammerfall (Eos) — finalist

Philip K. Dick Awardfor SF original paperback published in the US, juried
(1 nomination)

Voyager in Night (DAW) — finalist

— Locus Awards and Poll —
Locus Awardsfor SF/F/H works, polled by readers of Locus Magazine
(51 nominations; 1 win)

Visitor (DAW) — sf novel — 6th place

Protector (DAW) — sf novel — 6th place

Intruder (DAW) — sf novel — 10th place

The Collected Short Fiction of C. J. Cherryh (DAW) — collection — 2nd place

Defender (DAW) — sf novel — 5th place

Fortress of Dragons (Eos) — fantasy novel — 10th place

Precursor (DAW) — sf novel — 7th place

Fortress of Owls (HarperPrism) — fantasy novel — 3rd place

Fortress of Eagles (HarperPrism) — fantasy novel — 5th place

Finity's End (Warner) — sf novel — 5th place

Inheritor (DAW) — sf novel — 7th place

Invader (DAW) — sf novel — 3rd place

Fortress in the Eye of Time (HarperPrism) — fantasy novel — 3rd place

Foreigner (DAW) — sf novel — 3rd place

Tripoint (Warner Aspect) — sf novel — 17th place

Faery in Shadow (Legend; Science Fiction Book Club) — fantasy novel — 11th place

Chanur's Legacy (DAW) — sf novel — 7th place

Hellburner (Warner Questar) — sf novel — 14th place

Heavy Time (Warner Questar) — sf novel — 7th place

Rimrunners (Warner) — sf novel — 2nd place

Rusalka (Ballantine Del Rey) — fantasy novel — 4th place

Cyteen (Warner) — sf novel — winner

The Paladin (Baen) — fantasy novel — 2nd place

Chanur's Homecoming (Phantasia; DAW) — sf novel — 6th place

Visible Light (Phantasia) — collection — 4th place

Cuckoo's Egg (Phantasia; DAW) — sf novel — 9th place

The Kif Strike Back (Phantasia; DAW) — sf novel — 14th place

“The Scapegoat ” (Alien Stars) — novella — 6th place

Chanur's Venture (Phantasia; DAW) — sf novel — 5th place

“The Scapegoat ” (Alien Stars) — novella — 2nd place

Forty Thousand in Gehenna (Phantasia) — sf novel — 18th place

The Dreamstone (DAW) — fantasy novel — 8th place

The Tree of Swords and Jewels (DAW) — fantasy novel — 17th place

Merchanter's Luck (DAW) — sf novel — 9th place

The Pride of Chanur (DAW) — sf novel — 4th place

“Willow ” (Hecate's Cauldron) — novelette — 2nd place

Downbelow Station (DAW) — sf novel — 3rd place

The Pride of Chanur (DAW) — sf novel — 21st place

Wave without a Shore (DAW) — sf novel — 30th place (tie)

Ealdwood (Donald M. Grant) — novella — 7th place

“The Haunted Tower” (Sunfall) — novelette — 4th place

“The Only Death in the City” (Sunfall) — short story — 4th place

Sunfall (DAW) — single author collection — 3rd place

Serpent's Reach (DAW) — sf novel — 7th place

The Faded Sun: Kutath (DAW) — sf novel — 6th place

Fires of Azeroth (DAW) — fantasy novel — 6th place

The Faded Sun: Kesrith (DAW) — novel — 4th place

The Faded Sun: Shon'jir (DAW) — novel — 19th place

“Cassandra ” (F&SF Oct 1978) — short story — 6th place

Hunter of Worlds (DAW) — sf novel — 12th place

Brothers of Earth (DAW) — novel — 10th place

— Other Awards —
Balrog Awardsfor fantasy works, presented an annual FoolsCon in Kansas City
(5 nominations; 1 win)

“A Thief in Korianth ” (Flashing Swords #5: Demons and Daggers) — short fiction — winner

Fires of Azeroth (DAW) — novel — nomination

“The Dreamstone ” (Amazons!) — short fiction — nomination

professional achievement — nomination

professional achievement — nomination

Endeavour Awardfor best book by a Pacific Northwest writer, juried
(4 nominations)

Tracker (DAW) — finalist

Protector (DAW) — finalist

Fortress of Ice (Eos) — finalist

Destroyer (DAW) — finalist

HOMer Awardsfor SF/F works, voted by members of SF/F forum on CompuServe
(2 nominations)

Precursor (DAW) — novel — nomination

Invader (DAW) — novel — nomination

Interzone Readers Pollfor stories published in Interzone magazine, polled by readers
(1 nomination)

all-time best sf author — 20th place (tie)

John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writerfor new SF/F writer, voted by members of annual World SF con
(1 nomination; 1 win)


Prometheus Awardsfor SF works on libertarian themes, voted by members of the Libertarian Futurist Society
(2 nominations; 1 win)

Alliance Rising (by CJC & Jane S. Fancher) (DAW) — novel — winner

Finity's End (Warner) — novel — nomination

Science Fiction Chronicle Readers Pollfor SF/F works, polled by readers of Science Fiction Chronicle magazine
(1 nomination; 1 win)

Cyteen (Warner) — novel — winner

— As Judge —
World Fantasy Awardsfor Fantasy works; juried, with nominations from World Fantasy Con members

Copyright 2012 - 2021 by Mark R. Kelly and the Locus Science Fiction Foundation. All rights reserved.
This page last updated Monday 18 Jan 2021 at 11:36 PT