Chesley Awards 2013

science fiction awards database
British SF <— 2013 thread —> Clarke

2014 <— Chesley Awards —> 2012
Where and When: LoneStarCon, San Antonio, TX : August 29, 2013
Eligibility Year: 2012
Cover Illustration, Hardcover
  • Winner: Todd Lockwood for The Wild Road by Jennifer Roberson (DAW)
  • J. K. Drummond for Deadhouse Gates by Steven Erikson (Subterranean)
  • Bob Eggleton for Gods of Opar by Philip Jose Farmer & Christopher Paul Carey (Subterranean)
  • John Picacio for Hyperion by Dan Simmons (Subterranean)
  • Sam Weber for Quantum Coin by E. C. Myers (Pyr)
  • Donato Giancola for Range of Ghosts by Elizabeth Bear (Tor)
Cover Illustration, Paperback
  • Winner: John Picacio for The Creative Fire by Brenda Cooper (Pyr)
  • Todd Lockwood for The Dusk Watchman by Tom Lloyd (Pyr)
  • Elena Vizerskaya for Flying in the Heart of the Lafayette Escadrille by James Van Pelt (Fairwood Press)
  • Dehong He for Lance of Earth and Sky by Erin Hoffman (Pyr)
  • John Jude Palencar for The Palencar Project by David G. Hartwell (Tor)
Cover Illustration, Magazine
Interior Illustration
  • Winner: Sam Burley for “Brother. Prince. Snake” by Cecil Castellucci (
  • J. K. Drummond for Deadhouse Gates by Steven Erikson (Subterranean)
  • William O'Connor for Dracopedia The Great Dragons: An Artist's Field Guide and Drawing Journal by William O'Connor (Impact)
  • Brom for Krampus by Brom (Harper Voyager)
  • Bob Eggleton for Tarzan of the Apes by Edgar Rice Burroughs (MBI/Easton Press)
Color Work, Unpublished
Monochrome Work, Unpublished
Lifetime Artistic Achievement
Art Director
Gaming-related Illustration
  • Winner: “Ereshkigal, Death Mistress”, David Palumbo (Applibot Inc) (Legend of the Cryptids)
  • “Chandra the Firebrand”, D. Alexander Gregory (Wizards of the Coast) (2013 Core Set Magic card)
  • “Dragon Swarm”, Lucas Graciano (Paizo) (Pathfinder Campaign Setting: Artifacts & Legends)
  • “Princess of the Underworld”, James Ryman (Applibot Inc) (Legend of the Cryptids)
  • “Thundermaw Hellkite”, Sverlin Velinov (Wizards of the Coast) (2013 Core Set Magic card)
Product Illustration
  • Winner: John Picacio (La Sirena Loteria card)
  • Iain McCaig (Concept and character design for John Carter, Disney)
  • “The Dragon Empress”, Dan Dos Santos (Dragon*Con promotional poster))
  • “The Search”, John Harris (IlluXCon 5 promotional art)
  • “The Wanderers”, Jim Burns (IlluXCon 5 promotional art)

Copyright 2012 - 2024 by Mark R. Kelly and the Locus Science Fiction Foundation. All rights reserved.
This page last updated Monday 14 Jul 2014 at 13:36 PT