International Horror Guild Awards 1999

science fiction awards database
Ignotus <— 1999 thread —> Imaginaire

2000 <— International Horror Guild Awards —> 1998
Where and When: World Horror Convention, Atlanta GA : March 6, 1999
Eligibility Year: 1998
First Novel
Long Fiction
  • Winner: “Mr. Clubb and Mr. Cuff”, Peter Straub (Murder for Revenge)
  • “As Above, So Below”, Brian Hodge (Falling Idols)
  • “Blackburn Bakes Cookies”, Bradley Denton (One Day Closer to Death)
  • “The Sweet of Bitter Bark and Burning Clove”, Doris Egan (Sirens and Other Daemon Lovers)
  • “What Would You Do For Love?”, John Shirley (Black Butterflies: A Flock on the Dark Side)
Short Fiction
Graphic Story/illustrated Narrative
  • Winner: Black Butterflies: A Flock on the Dark Side, John Shirley (Mark V. Ziesing)
  • The Collector of Hearts: New Tales of the Grotesque, Joyce Carol Oates (NAL/Dutton)
  • Crypt Orchids, David J. Schow (Subterranean Press)
  • Extremities, Kathe Koja (Four Walls Eight Windows)
  • Falling Idols, Brian Hodge (Silver Salamander Press)
  • Winner: St. James Guide to Horror, Ghost, and Gothic Writers, David Pringle, ed. (St. James Press)
  • Gothic Horror: A Reader's Guide from Poe to King and Beyond, Clive Bloom, ed. (St. Martin's)
  • Mondo Macabro: Weird and Wonderful Cinema Around the World, Pete Tombs, et al (St. Martin's)
  • Screams of Reason: Mad Science and Modern Culture, David J. Skal (W.W. Norton)
  • A Writer's Tale, Richard Laymon (Deadline Press)
  • Winner: Hellnotes
  • Carpe Noctem
  • DarkEcho
  • Talebones
  • The Urbanite
  • Winner: Gods and Monsters (Directed by Bill Condon, Screenplay by Bill Condon, Novel by Christopher Bram)
  • Apt Pupil (Directed by Bryan Singer, Screenplay by Brandon Boyce, Story Stephen King)
  • Dark City (Directed by Alex Proyas, Screenplay by Alex Proyas, Lem Dobbs and David S. Goyer, Story Alex Proyas)
  • Fallen (Directed by Gregory Hoblit, Screenplay by Nicholas Kazan)
  • John Carpenter's Vampires (Directed by John Carpenter, Screenplay by Don Jakoby, Novel by John Steakley)
Television Show
  • Winner: Buffy the Vampire Slayer
  • Brimstone
  • Charmed
  • Millennium
  • The X-Files

Copyright 2012 - 2024 by Mark R. Kelly and the Locus Science Fiction Foundation. All rights reserved.
This page last updated Friday 10 Aug 2012 at 09:40 PT